Tennessee Documentary History
  Multiple Collection Search     View bookbag 
your bookbag has 0 items 

Title:[Letter] 1830 Jul. 21, Alexandria Louisiana [to] Walter Moore, Murfreesboro, Tennessee / Thomas Moore : a machine readable transcription of an image
Author:Moore, Thomas

This work is the property of The Albert Gore Research Center, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, TN 37132. It may be used freely by individuals for research, teaching, and personal use as long as this statement of availability is included in the text. For all other use contact The Albert Gore Research Center, P.O. Box 193, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, TN 37132.

Date: July 21, 1830
Extent: p4
Summary:Letter written on July 21, 1830 from Thomas Moore to his brother Walter Moore. The letter addresses issues such as the conditions of crops, sickness and his plans for marriage.
Collection:James Moore King Papers Correspondence, 1830

Page [1]  view page image

[added: From Gov. Thos. O. Moor. [GovenorThomas O. Moore] ]
Walter O Moore Esqr. [Esquire] Murfreesboro Tennessee
[added: Mail }]

Page [2]  view page image

Alexandria (La) [Louisiana] 21st july 1830
Dear Brother

I have deferred writing to you for some time to know to a certainty whether uncle would return home this summer or not, have just recd [received] a letter from him stating his determination to remain at the white sulphur springs this season with a view of getting his health reinstated if possible, as it was much benefitted by his previous visit, in consequence of his absence I have not been able to send your money but he says he will make immediate arrangements for me to get it at N. [New] Orleans which as soon as procured (if you so order it) will remit it by mail immediately as there is no other mode of convey ance [conveyance] from this place that I consider safe, it is a scarce article here and our people are all more or less distressed by the shortness of their crops last year (write me immediately on the subject)

Page [3]  view page image

I saw Doctor H. [unclear: Heahus ] the other day he is now on a visit to uncle Henry's and on his return I shall go with him to Natchitochy [Natchitoches] & probably Ouachitta [Ouachita] to where the Judge resides he afforded me great satisfaction by the news brought from the old dominion they are all well and getting on as usual I have had no letter from there for several months.

Crops are fine, we have never had better prospects. though to day [today] is the first rain we have had for six weeks, we cant boast of a healthy summer as their has been considerable sickness. Cousin Tom & John have both been a little sick but have recovered I am in good health & spirits and shall be married about the middle of October to Miss Bathia I. Leonard a creolle [creole] of the county she has just returned from Kentucky and I assur [assure] a you a fine girl, quite small fifteen years old, black hair and eyes and quite intelligent, shall endeavor to alter my course of living which has been rather wild than otherwise

Page [4]  view page image

write me the news from Carolina & Alabama and anything that will be the least interesting if I can possibly leave the county I shall do so next summer for Tenn. [Tennessee] and Carolina though shall make no promises [gap] I have so often failed, requst [request] cousin James to write me, My love to him & family to aunt Butter your wife & self and with the rest of my friends accept the best wishes of

yr. affte. [your affectionate] Brother
Tho. O. M [gap]
[added: If I get married and can leave Louisiana it is probable my wife will spend the summer with you as the road is too long for her to travel to Carolina yr. brother T.O.M]

A product of DLPS
To comment or inquire about content, contact UTK Special Collections
To report errors, contact UTK Special Collections