Frank H. McClung Museum
Archaeology Collections Guide
The Frank H. McClung Museum curates collections from many sites in Tennessee and a few from surrounding states. Information about the specific collections curated by the Museum, as well as policies and procedures for their use can be found in t his document, which is available in pdf form via the link below:
The Archaeological Collections at the Frank H. McClung Museum
OCCASIONAL PAPER NO. 7 THE FRANK H. McCLUNG MUSEUM, THE UNIVERSTY OF TENNESSEE, KNOXVILLE by Jefferson Chapman, Ph.D. Curator of Archaeology,
1988. REVISED by Lynne P. Sullivan, Ph.D. Curator of Archaeology, 2006.
On-line WPA/TVA Photo Archive
Many photographs from the excavations conducted during the New Deal-era in conjunction with the construction of the Tennessee Valley Authority reservoirs are available in an on-line searchable archive at: http://diglib.lib.utk.edu/wpa/index.htm
Site names and numbers found in the Collections Guide can be used to search the on-line photo archive. NOTE: The WPA-era site numbers, which are used in the archive, differ from Smithsonian system numbers. The first number in the WPA numbers indicates the unit excavated in the particular county, not the state designation (which for Tennessee is “40”). For example, the WPA number for the Ledford Island site is 16BY13, which means, sixteenth unit (16) excavated in Bradley County (BY), site 13. The Smithsonian number for the site is 40BY13, which means State of Tennessee (40), Bradley County (BY), site 13.
Guidelines and policies for use of the photographs in the archives can be found in the Guide to Collections and on the Museum’s web site.
Digital WPA/TVA Field Maps
The original WPA-era field maps now are available to qualified researchers in digital format on CDs. The maps are scanned as high-resolution tiffs. These files are quite large, but capture the detail in the maps so that the maps can be printed at actual size. An example of one map, in a much lower resolution format, can be seen via the link below. This map shows the detailed plans of some structures at the Hixon site (40HA3):
For collections access, more information, or for permission to use the web archive photos in publications, contact:
Lynne P. Sullivan, Ph.D., Curator of Archaeology
Frank H. McClung Museum, The University of Tennessee Email: lsulliv2@utk.edu
Please Note: In order to view these maps and PDF files you must have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer. You may obtain a free copy of the reader here.
|